Game World Ports ideas from a newbie.

Hey there, so after searching through here, I know this is a well-worn topic, but for good reason! The Game World Ports is a cool idea albeit…Rough around the edges. As a newbie, I thought I’d share my initial impressions, and build on some of the ideas I’ve seen discussed here with this perspective in mind.

New player impressions:

To start, the Game World Ports are kind of…Confusing, and a little overwhelming. There’s a bunch of games, some of which are pretty clear in what they are, but a few are less clear, like Virus, Little Crusaders, and Planet Panic. Not to mention Planet Panic isn’t open but doesn’t have a coming soon sign, so it’s kind of unclear what’s going on there for a newcomer.

Personally, I just dug through the help menu and brushed up on what was up with each game, but I think that infoboxes as seen in Laser Tag & Trivia could help others more easily learn about them. Although I also imagine this is something already in consideration.

Besides that, there’s the, uh…Matchmaking spiral thing. I gotta be honest, this part of the Ports still confuses me a little. As with the games, maybe an infobox here could help clarify it a little, as my initial impression was that it seemed weirdly redundant. I’m pretty sure now I have a better understanding of it, as I guess it’s a cross-server version of the Ports for forming groups to play games, hence matchmaking & all, but it wasn’t clear to me if it was like a sub-area of the server I initially joined or how it worked at first.

New player impressions over, now more substantive suggestions

Beyond adding some more infoboxes like those that appear near Lasertag & Trivia to the games/matchmaking spiral for new folks, I also have some other ideas I think more pertinent to experienced players.

Improving Ports Usage