A possible way to combat macros

Now, since I don’t have any experience with game dev, let alone any proper coding experience, I’m just gonna assume that this is possible some how, rather than with any definite “yes this can be done”

Now, I believe that while it may take a lot of effort (or little effort, I’m no expert here), it would be possible. The devs could rig the game to track your button presses, and if the time between it being pressed becomes a pattern or is too similar, the machines just don’t give out anything to the player at all. It will never land on anything that will give them units, just blanks. When the macro user wakes up in the morning, they’ll have put all of their units into the machine, nothing was given to them.

And the way it could track the button presses, it would maybe just find a pattern or a similarity for every 20 or so button presses (and this would go on for the duration in which the user is playing). So if I press it 20 times, and they were all off, so to speak (whenever you press space, it’ll never be exactly the same) I would keep on getting units (and during the time the game is checking the button presses, I would still be getting units, if that wasn’t already clear). Then a person who is using a macro presses it 20 times, they will stop receiving the units. Hopefully that makes sense.

Thoughts?

So punish macros by making them lose all or most of their units?
Sounds a tiny bit too harsh IMO. But there should definitely be a decent punishment for it.

1 Like

Well no, they would leave their macro on all night not knowing the punishment. As they leave it on, the game will detect every 20 presses that they’re using a macro. Once it determines that, it’ll stop giving a payout, leaving the user to continuously put units into the machine, but get nothing out of it in the process.

1 Like

Me CSxDeity actually had a minor talk in pm about possible solutions, and we came up with a pretty decent one, just wanted to chip in.