[0.3.4.2] Massive Memory Leaking, during Alt-Tab

Hello, this is my first post in Tower Unite Forums, so I’ll be brief.
Essentially what’s happening:

Steps:

1. Launch game, load into Lobby (Dallas Texas)
  2. Alt-Tab (since I have multi-monitor setup, game is windowed)
  3. Return to the game, (perhaps alt-tab again)
  4. Tower-Unite stops responding, and CPU-usage sky-rockets into the “Danger zone”

After which, causes my CPU to max out and soft-lock.(Screen freezes, but no blue screen or anything)
I’m willing to help anyone here on the development side, confirm the issue and resolve it.

Regardless if TU closes, my computer’s screen still freezes (I assume the application has a memory leak somewhere).

My hunch:
As a C++ developer myself, I’m concerned that it might have something to do with the DirectX 11, and the swapchain resources(assets maybe) being recreated each time there’s an alt-tab. I don’t know much about DirectX since I only use Vulkan, but I’m ready to help you guys in any means.

Thanks for your time development team,
I hope we can solve this issue together.

2 Likes

I have tried to reproduce this many times before and have not been successful.

We don’t believe it has anything to do with Direct X 11. Most likely this is deep within the Unreal engine and not something to do with any of our game code.

As for the memory leak issue, how high does your memory usage get? When loading lobby it should be around 1,800,000 K or less. It will increase a bit when players load in their wearables or you visit new areas.

Thanks Mac, I’ll see if I can get more helpful debug information.

I’ll post a reply if I find anything of use.

Edit:
Um, roughly it sticks around that 1.8 mark. One moment, I’ll try it and edit the post again.

After some attempts to figure out the issue. I came up with a pattern…

It never happens when I’m in the main menu. Might be something related to the loading data.