>mfw mac says to not use their assets

So for the last 2 days, I’ve been attempting to recreate the bumper from Ballrace, as Mac said to not use their assets. Well, what better way to circumvent that than to do an entire recreation. Best part of this is though, this might have awakened something in me. Before this, I’ve never done a true modelling project like this, and I’ve never really taken an interest towards 3D modelling. This wasn’t an unbearable thing for me to do, it was something that was actually kind of fun for me. Sure, it’s a pain in the ass when it comes to doing things for Source, but man. Seeing the final result makes me excited.

So I present to you, 2 days of bumper development (because I’m a shitty modeler apparently)

And the final result. It still needs a few tweaks here and there, but I like how it came out.

Also, this is the epitome of “don’t hire me”

Edit: Also if anyone has any ideas on how I should tweak it, that would be great, thanks!

12 Likes

i want this in my condos

1 Like

nice file names

1 Like

If you’re just recreating the model that looks 1:1 as the original, then you’re not circumventing copyright here.

13 Likes

Yeah, what Mac said. Remaking something 1:1 doesn’t stop you from infringing copyright.

It’s good practice to recreate things from reference, so long as you don’t distribute it to others and claim it as your own… because it still is a 1:1 model and the bumper model still does belong to pixeltail. So seriously, dont do that. other than that, it looks really nice if this is the first 3d model you made.

2 Likes

Alright, so if I just recreate the assets, but in my own design and tastes, we won’t have any problems?

Don’t worry, I’m way ahead of you. :wink:

5 Likes

As long as the assets you create are noticeably different than Pixeltail’s, yes

2 Likes