How good is CS:GO?

Hello, everyone.
I recently started playing Counter Strike: Source. I thought I’d try it since I bought it to play Gmtower and never really played it before. I turns out I like it a lot. I have played it for a few hours now, but I often hear people say that Counter Strike: Global Offense is a much better game, and that people should be playing that instead of Source. If you have the game, what are your thoughts? Is it worth it for 15 bucks? Is it that much different from Source?

1 Like

I am a huge fan of Counter-Strike: Source, but not so much of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive. Personally, I prefer Source to GO because the game mechanics are more familiar to me. Knifing, bunnyhopping, surfing and so forth feel different between the two games. In fact, the player size (and walking speed if I recall correctly) is different between the two games, which can seriously impact mappers who are familiar mapping for Source. In GO there is a little delay when repeatedly crouching, and there is no more flashlight. In fact, ladders work very different from Source to be more realistic, which sucks in my opinion. My final complaint about GO compared to Source is its constant updates; you never know when an update will come out that ends up breaking your map or gamemode.

In conclusion, GO has changed drastically from Source. If you like Source, then by all means, enjoy it! Newer isn’t always better, and it takes personal experience to decide which game you prefer.

Alright, thanks for the help. :slight_smile:

1 Like

CS:GO is better in some ways, but not all. There’s a lot more balancing, hitboxes are somewhat better, it’s more competively viable in quite a few ways. If you have any specific questions about it, I have somewhere around 1500 hours of actual in-game playtime (Not just idling on the main menu), and I should be able to answer them.