Community-made fake movie posters

Looking around in the alpha, you can find the theater has empty black frames where the movie posters used to be in the Cinema. Now, while these could be left empty on purpose, but what if the community could help?

My suggestion is to allow the community to send in fake movie posters to plaster up, or even to use as decorations in condos. You could have a couple sets of these posters to switch out, such as around Christmas or Halloween. I think it’d be very neat to see what silly movies people can come up with. It could even be a contest of sorts.

4 Likes

Would be a good idea, don’t know how many will participate.

2 Likes

That was certainly one of my favortie things about the Theatron map. This’d be a great plan to increase community involvement.

I think this is a great idea and I would participate myself, however I’m not very good with photoshop and I’m also not great at coming up with creative ideas. :confounded:

I made a couple of poster, although it was made with gmod playermodels and a lot of photoshop.

When I was younger, I played a MMO called JumpStart, which still exists today. There would be billboards all around the map, and players could submit a image from their computer that would show up on one of the billboards with all of the other players’ submitted images. Every 5 minutes or so, another patch of the players’ images would be displayed. After about a month, your image would stop being loaded/displayed until you uploaded another one. Maybe a similar feature could happen with the theater posters?

2 Likes

I like that idea. Brings a bit of freshness to the lobby. But how would they be uploaded in TU?

I don’t mind participating, though. Could be a nice chance to hone my photoshopping skills.
Question: Would we be allowed to use Source Filmmaker models for our posters?